Posted by: lindseyquinn | September 12, 2008

Wishing Hell

I don’t sleep much to begin with.

There’s a lot of dallying and reading and computering and knitting-TVing-crapping around (lately, job-searching) before there occur any Z’s. Messing with blankets and wrapping limbs over the top of the futon and messing with the fan and fending off a wild kitten.

So it sucks when, after I finally drift off, I wake up at 5:30 a.m. with a song stuck in my head.

It sucks worse: The song is “Wishing Well” by Terence Trent D’Arby.

It sucks worse: I don’t even know this song very well. I don’t believe I’ve ever sat through it in its entirety. I just clearly hear the chorus, recalling it not even from the radio, but from people like Hal Sparks making fun of it in falsetto on VH1.

It’s just a 3- or 4-second loop of mockery running over and over again in my brain at the crack of dawn and birds start chirping and Wish me loooooove in a wish!ing well and the sun is rising and OMG is this really my life?


Leave a comment

Categories